Scotland Update

Dear Colleague,

The following local authorities in Scotland will move from level 3 to level 4 from 20 November at 6pm. This means that driver testing, and training will not be allowed and will not recommence until the 12th of December or until a further review is announced, there is no critical/key worker training or testing during this period. Travel restrictions – which already apply to level three areas – will be made law, meaning residents will only be able to travel outside their local authority area for essential purposes.

While several of these areas have seen some improvement, the recent review concluded that additional protective measures were necessary in order to see the levels of improvement needed to address concerns regarding NHS capacity over the winter season.

See further detail on the reasons behind these individual decisions.

Affected Councils

·         Glasgow City

·         East Renfrewshire

·         Renfrewshire

·         East Dunbartonshire

·         West Dunbartonshire

·         North Lanarkshire

·         South Lanarkshire

·         East Ayrshire

·         South Ayrshire

·         West Lothian

·         Stirling

At this time these are the only councils in level 4 in Scotland, however we will update you as and when the information changes.

Stay safe

Yours sincerely


Peter J Harvey MBE

National Chairman



Leave a Reply